The Imperfect Sea


Format: 180g vinyl LP
Release Date: 05/05/2017

In stock

SKU: 4050486113035 Catalogue number: ERATP097LP Categories: , , Tags: ,

The Penguin Cafe Orchestra (PCO) was founded by British composer Simon Jeffes (1949 – 1997). Born in Sussex, England, and raised in Canada and around Europe, Jeffes began playing the guitar at the age of 13 and then studied classical guitar, piano, and music theory at Chiswick Polytechnic, but dropped out before graduating. While living in Japan in 1972, he developed an interest in ethnic music, particularly African styles, and decided to try to merge those styles with more traditional Western sounds. He launched the PCO as an outlet for his compositions with this eclectic hybrid approach. He described the music of the group as “modern semi-acoustic chamber music.”
Penguin Cafe is a follow-up to the above. The ensemble is led by Simon Jeffes’ son, Arthur Jeffes.

A1 Ricercar
A2 Cantorum
A3 Control 1 (Interlude)
A4 Franz Schubert
B5 Half Certainty
B6 Protection
B7 Rescue
B8 Now Nothing (Rock Music)
B9 Wheels Within Wheels