BBC Sessions, 1970-1972


Format: Ltd edn yellow and red split vinyl LP, reissue
Release Date: --/--/2022

In stock

Catalogue number: NK202203 Categories: , , Tags: ,

Kevin Ayers (16 August 1944 – 18 February 2013) was an English singer-songwriter who was active in the English psychedelic music movement. Ayers was a founding member of the psychedelic band Soft Machine in the mid-1960s, and was closely associated with the Canterbury scene. He recorded a series of albums as a solo artist and over the years worked with Brian Eno, Syd Barrett, Bridget St John, John Cale, Elton John, Robert Wyatt, Andy Summers, Mike Oldfield, Nico and Ollie Halsall, among others. After living for many years in Deià, Majorca, he returned to the United Kingdom in the mid-1990s before moving to the south of France. His last album, The Unfairground, was released in 2007. The British rock journalist Nick Kent wrote: “Kevin Ayers and Syd Barrett were the two most important people in British pop music. Everything that came after came from them.”

This album contains sessions from BBC radio shows Top Gear, The Alan Black Show and the Bob Harris Show.

Players on Why Are We Sleeping? & You Say You Like My Hat
Kevin Ayers – Lead Vocals & Guitars
Mike Ratledge – Organ
Hugh Hopper – Bass Guitar
Robert Wyatt – Drums & Vocals
Elton Dean – Alto Saxophone
Lol Coxhill – Soprano Saxophone
Nick Evans – Trombone
Lyn Dobson – Flute

Players Except on Why Are We Sleeping? & You Say You Like My Hat
Kevin Ayers – Lead Vocals & Guitars
David Bedford – Piano
Mike Oldfield – Bass Guitar
Mike Fincher – Drums
Lol Coxhill – Soprano Saxophone